Successful Outcome for Client Charged with Fourth Cell Phone Ticket in New Jersey

June 8, 2016

Just recently, the Law Office of Randolph H. Wolf represented a client that was being charged with their fourth cell phone violation in New Jersey. As a fourth offense, pursuant to New Jersey’s hands free driving law, N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.3, the client faced a fine of between $600.00 and $800.00 dollars, the assessment of 3 motor vehicle points, and up to 90 days of driver’s license suspension.

Understandably, the client was very concerned about the prospect of losing his driver’s license, which could have posed problems with his employment. Randolph H. Wolf, however, was able to downgrade the cell phone ticket to an offense in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-116, failure to make a proper right or left turn at arrow. This offense carried zero points and no suspension time. Thus, after pleading guilty to the amended charge in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-116, the client ended up having to pay a small fine and was able to keep his New Jersey driving privileges.

Since New Jersey’s new cell phone law went into effect in July of 2014, the Law Office of Randolph H. Wolf has successfully represented numerous clients facing the new cell phone penalties in New Jersey. For those client facing possible suspension time as a result of a third or subsequent cell phone violation, we work to either obtaining a complete dismissal of the cell phone violation, downgrade the cell phone ticket, or reduce or eliminate any suspension time associated with the cell phone offense.

To learn more about New Jersey’s cell phone law and to find answers to questions such as when does it make sense to hire an attorney to fight a cell phone ticket in New Jersey, what the possible defenses to a cell phone violation in New Jersey are, and when can New Jersey courts counts prior cell phone violations against you, we welcome you to read some of the following blog posts on the subject:

Please note that, as explained in more detail in these blogs posts, for first or second cell phone violations, the court can only impose a fine of between $200.00 to $400.00 for a first offense and $400.00 to $600.00 for a second offense. You will not be assessed any motor vehicle points or suspension time for a first or second cell phone ticket in New Jersey. Thus, for the vast majority of individuals facing a first or second cell phone ticket, it simply does not make financial sense to hire an attorney to fight the ticket, unless of course you determine that pleading guilty to the cell phone violation would have a negative effect on your employment.

If you have received a third or subsequent cell phone violation in New Jersey, or if are facing a first or second cell phone violation and you have determined that it would effect your employment, contact the attorneys at the Law Office of Randolph H. Wolf for a free consultation at 732.741.4448.

Similar Posts:

By way of disclaimer, I must advise you that the purpose of this blog is not to provide legal advise and I am not doing so. I do not generally police this blog and I have no way of knowing whether the information that anyone else posts is accurate. Also keep in mind that laws and regulations change frequently and anything you read may be out of date.

This web site is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. [ Sitemap ]